Hand Coded vs WYSIWYG

I’ve been into website design and development for a good few years now and at the start it was a hobby. It was something that I wanted to pursue as a career because it allowed me to be creative but also allowed me to be technical but I didn’t have the patience to learn. The first software I ever used was Adobe Dreamweaver and I’ll admit, I didn’t have a clue. It was all a bit too technical at the time. I then switched to Serif WebPlus, a “What you see is what you get editor” and I started to make websites in no time. Even though WebPlus allowed me to create a website with ease, is was efficient but does it have any advantages compared to hand coded websites?

“What you see is what you get” website development software allows you to create websites by just dragging elements of the website i.e. An image or a text box into an area of the page and the program will automatically code the page for you. As a beginner, this seems like the best thing since sliced bread. It allows you to create websites with ease and you don’t need to know the code behind it. Fantastic right? Depends.

I loved the software where I first used it, I felt that the software allowed me to create websites with ease and allowed me to concentrate on being more creative with the website design and not have to focus on coding the website. The time taken to make the website was astonishing. I manage to create a full website in thirty minutes.

At this time, I really wanted to pursue a career in website design and development and I starting applying for jobs, only having very basic HTML experience and experience in using “WYSIWYG” software. I thought I could get a job and do fine. Then I realised, how many companies out there would employ a person who knows how to drag and drop images onto a page and say they know how to create websites? That’s what I thought.

I then went into educating myself in HTML and CSS. I spent 2+ hours each night for 4 months, learning every little bit of HTML that I possibly could. I was then confident enough to apply for jobs.

“What You See Is What You Get” website development software are the people who want to create websites with ease and want to do it quick. If you are not interested in pursuing a career in this field, then WYSIWYG software is you, but if you are wanting to learn how create a more flexible website or wanting to pursue a career in web, HTML editing software and learning HTML and CSS from scratch is the right direction to go in.

One thought on “Hand Coded vs WYSIWYG

Leave a Reply

