Becoming Freelance & Stay at home father

My posts were becoming less frequent on here and it’s not intentional. I love to write for this blog and I love for people to see what I have wrote. Over the last eight months I have had quite a bit of my spare time taken, by the job I was in and by the birth of my daughter. The former I regret but the latter I could never regret. I wouldn’t change the amount of time I have spent with my daughter, and I know any parent wouldn’t do that with their own child, I’d probably use more time to spend with her but the job I was in was becoming something that was affecting me, mentally and physically.

My position in the company I worked for was a HTML Email Developer. I was a Junior throughout the eight months I worked there. For the first six months, the “Junior” moniker can be seen a fair judgement. I was still learning the in’s and outs of HTML and how they must be modified for the email marketing sector. By the end of these six months, I knew everything my co-worker knew. I tried to explain this to line manager’s and managing directors but they were having none of it.

I have the passion to do more, the drive to participate in more challenging area’s and not be constricted to one area of HTML. My skill’s were not being used to the fullest potential and it frustrated me. I can do more but they wouldn’t let me.

Aswell as not being used to my fullest potential, the time that I spent going to work and going home was not ideal. I set of at 6:50am and returned at 7pm. This didn’t bother me when my daughter was still in her mothers tummy but when she was here it really started to affect me. I was seeing her for about 5-10 minutes a day when I got home. I was devastated that I wasn’t able to see her more. This led to me being more stressed and becoming depressed. This wasn’t helping me at home or at work due to anger issues arising. I had a confidential talk with a director at the company. I explained how I was unhappy, depressed, angry and I got told “Turn your negativity into positivity”.  I poured my feelings out to you, expecting a small bit of help to allow me to see more daughter more or at least some support but no, I get told to turn negativity into positivity.

A week after this I decided that I had enough. I discussed this with my partner and we both decided it would be best, for the family, If I left the job and found a job closer to home. I handed in my resignation and I couldn’t have felt better about it. My shoulders felt lighter with the stress that I had just relieved. My final four weeks at work were the best that I could have asked for. Less stress, more fun!

Upon leaving, I started focusing on freelance projects that I have been meaning to get on with for quite a while. Redesigning websites, meeting with clients and gaining new clients. It’s been wonderful so far!

By leaving work I have also been able to see me daughter on a daily basis and it has been brilliant. Seeing her wake up with smile’s and seeing her go to bed has made me a much nicer person. Less stress from the workplace has made me into a much nicer person and my family is benefiting from it aswell.

I’ll finish this off here by saying, I haven’t felt happier.

Leave a Reply

